Sigh…I don’t really know anymore.

Today I got an e-mail from my friend that she’ll probably unable to get online for a while. The reason? She got grounded for messing up on her final. I asked her if she can get on AIM so we can talk and so she did.

Me: so they grounded you for messing up?

Her: I dunno, they were pretty mad and yelled. I said I tried my best but I guess it was a “disappointment” and Internet is “messing me up”

Her: So I can’t go on as much

Her: I have to study and stuff

Me: what are you going to do about it?

Her: Hmm? About what?

Me: about your parents grounding you I mean

Her: Is there anything I can do? I mean, they are the parents

Her: I’m kind of depressed that they think I’m a disappointment though

Me: lol, if we switch parents, I would get disowned in like, 30 seconds

Her: Lol… I think you’ll manage

Me: nah, I suck under pressure

Me: I think you should talk to them

Her:  It’s fine

Her: I need the good grade anyways

Her: Hey, I gtg

Her: Parents are coming

Me: bye

Her: Bye

Yeah, I don’t understand it either. Do her parents seriously think that getting a B on the final is the end of the world?

How could she be a disappointment? I mean, I know her. She was the one that always get good grade, know 3 languages, and can play both the violin AND piano. Sometimes, I don’t get how parents think. How can they call her messed up and disappointment? Can’t they just appreciate what she done already? Seriously, she is so talented.

I wish we could talk more, but then again I don’t really know I could persuade her to talk to her parents about it. Her mind seemed pretty made up and I’m not really persuasive.

2 Responses to Sigh…I don’t really know anymore.

  1. teriyakifan says:

    Hmm.. well coming from someone who has been in high school for 4 years.. parents can be brutal. They set these unrealistic expectations for their kids.. and then the students set really high expectations for themselves like getting into Harvard or Yale.. that in the end they both suffer. High school is FULL of emotional breakdowns! We’re emotional messes. That’s why it’s so important to put things in perspective =)

  2. my parents are kinda strict on grades too…

Leave a Reply

